Leader – Learning to unlearn

Follow by Email
Twitter20
LinkedIn20
LinkedIn
Share

by - Alan Caugant, CEO SUPERHUMAIN™

Given the crisis we are currently experiencing, I wonder if we are in a state of revolution or evolution? Only history will tell on a global level, but we have clearly reached a turning point. On an individual level, there is no such thing as a one-answer-fits-all solution. Depending on the context in which they find themselves, their current state of mind, and their background, the leaders of today will either experience a revolution or a progressive evolution.

Given the crisis we are currently experiencing, I wonder if we are in a state of revolution or evolution? Only history will tell on a global level, but we have clearly reached a turning point. On an individual level, there is no such thing as a one-answer-fits-all solution. Depending on the context in which they find themselves, their current state of mind, and their background, the leaders of today will either experience a revolution or a progressive evolution.

It is obvious, however, that those who choose to take the inevitable changes to come in their stride with a positive frame of mindwill be more comfortable with what lies ahead.

Will this reality make humans more supportive of each other? We are not there yet, but a movement is stirring. The future should not resemble the past.

Understandably, the future fosters anxiety at times of great change. It is normal to be worried, because an uncertain future perturbs us as human beings and triggers emotions that can be overwhelming. To welcome change requires imagination, trust, determination, and learning to unlearn.

 Never stop learning because life never stops teaching  – Anonyme

To be successful, tomorrow's Human Leader will need to develop critical qualities such as being able to perceive what is wrong and learn to unlearn

A change of strategy is necessarywhenever a person realises that the strategies at his or her disposal are no longer effective: human intelligence. When it becomes necessary to unlearn in order to reach another level of competence, the perceptions and interpretations of others prove to be useful sources of information. We cannot see ourselves from the outside. Our brain encourages us to perceive our behaviours as legitimate.

Accepting confrontation is a way to open our senses to new information. Unlearning requires negotiating with oneself about the value of this cognitive effort.

In organizations, consultants, coaches, auditors, partners, conferences, etc. bring as many external perspectives on the relevance of current practices. Every negotiation for change is a chance to discover something unknown. Toremain in touch with other people's perceptions is, in my opinion, intrinsically stimulating.

To unlearn consists in inhibiting a cognitive strategy that has proven successful in a certain context but that proves to be inefficient in a different one.

When a new cognitive strategy is acquired, it competes with existing skills and thereby gives rise to some confusion. Drawing from experience and in accordance with the situation, leaders learn to choose the most relevant strategy. To do so, however, they must be capable of inhibiting otherstrategies which have become routine for they were acquired beforehand.

He who loves to learn is very close to knowledge – Confucius

Anotherastonishing proof arises from the neuromanagement principles that have helped me develop my skills: this inhibition process can actually be seen in medical imaging as the brain reorganizes itself. These experiments have shown that when a cognitive routine is inhibited and replaced with a new strategy, a reconfiguration of the brain circuits occurs.

The new circuits involve the prefrontal cortex, whereas prior to this adjustment the back of the brain (reptilian part) was the activezone.

To progress, our brain needs three conditions: Motivation, the right to make mistakes, and time.

The learning process is simple: one acquires a "gesture" (for example, how to celebrate a success), appreciates the result obtained, and experiences an emotion, which thereby facilitates the memorization of the approach by which my subordinates were delighted.

It is linked to the trial and error process being repeated over time, with an evaluation of the causes forsuccess and failure and the creation of specialized cognitive models. Yes! Learning to value one's team is a skill that can be acquired.

Today,the business goals and priorities at play in some companies lead to attentional automatisms, the perversity of which many managers do not measure. Being focused for many years on economic indicators gives rise todehumanized corporate cultures. People who have been immersed in the same culture for a long time end up not knowing what they fail to see. They have chosen, at some point, to focus on priorities but along the way they no longer realised that automatisms had taken place that dictated their behaviour.

In the current context, remaining focused on a key element or strategy from one's past would be suicidal for it would hinder the development of talent within an organization.

Taking up challenges, persisting in the face of failure, perceiving efforts as the path to mastery, learning from criticism, learning from and inspiring the success of others all require the ability to question one's achievements.

A Leader's ability to unlearn/learn is at the core of his or her human intelligence. Confronted with an uncertain environment and with the effort required by innovation, leaders must be able to implement change management but through situational intelligence. During the transition period, they are confronted with yet more uncertainty, which causes a loss in self-confidence and calls for efforts and initiatives. The leader’s behaviour dependson his or herprofile as a person.

This art of adaptation (or the ability to bounce back) is only worthwhile if the Leaders benefit from their experience and can draw lessons from it.

However, the organizational system of the company itself plays a role. The value given to initiatives and the room for manoeuvre depend on the head of the organization and how learning/unlearning is promoted or not.

This process flourishes best in an environment where a collective momentum is in motion and when the expected gains make sense to the ecosystem players who trigger it.

My advice to any Leader motivated by the perception of novelty and caring management is as follows:

  • • Daring to take the risk of discovery makes it possible!
  • • Learning to give value to differences in perception is the first step towards opening up to new options.
  • • Communicating with others and learning from them can only be effective if you are open to other sensitivities.
  • • Curiosity opens the door to the displacement of repetitive attention and thus offers new opportunities;
  • • Unlearning in order to learn requires the ability to capture new information. Accepting change requires awareness.
  • • Learning to manage pressure comes at the risk of inhibiting the movement in progress.
  • • Learning to shift one’s attention, but also to be satisfied with a different result that initially expected is key in apprehending the future in a positive and rewarding light.

 

As for the future, your task is not to foresee it, but to enable it – Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

It takes time, and the path is/will be marked by observed failures, to accompany others in their new learning process, but each time, the enthusiasm, determination, human intelligence, inventiveness, and benevolence of each person constitutes/will constitute a true wealth for tomorrow's society.

Leader – Apprenons à désapprendre

Follow by Email
Twitter20
LinkedIn20
LinkedIn
Share

par - Alan Caugant, CEO SUPERHUMAIN™

Face au contexte actuel que nous vivons, je me demande si sommes-nous dans une révolution ou une évolution ? Au niveau global, c’est l’histoire qui confirmera, mais il est évident que nous sommes à une époque charnière. Au niveau individuel, il n’y a pas une même réponse pour tous. Selon le contexte où elle se trouve, son état d’esprit, son histoire, le leader actuel va vivre une révolution ou des évolutions progressives.

Pour les leaders conservateurs, c’est une catastrophe qui va les détruire; pour les progressistes, c’est une opportunité qui s’offre à eux. Ce qui est perçu, ressenti, vaut pour vérité.

Il est évident toutefois que ceux qui sont dans la posture de vivre positivement les changements seront plus à l’aise pour traverser les évolutions à venir.

Cette réalité va-t-elle rendre les humains plus solidaires ? Nous n’en sommes pas là mais un mouvement est en marche. Le futur ne devra pas ressembler au passé.

Je peux concevoir que dans les périodes de forts changements, le futur est anxiogène. Les inquiétudes sont normales, car un futur qui s’appuie sur peu de certitude perturbe l’être humain et génère des émotions. Pour pouvoir les vivre sereinement, il va falloir de l’imagination, des relations de confiance, de la détermination et apprendre à désapprendre.

 Ne cessons jamais d’apprendre car la vie ne cesse de nous enseigner  – Anonyme

Percevoir ce qui ne va pas, apprendre à désapprendre est/sera une qualité critique pour le succès d’un Leader Humain de demain.

Changer de stratégie s’impose à une personne quand elle prend conscience que les stratégies dont elle dispose ne sont plus opérantes : intelligence humaine. Quand il faut désapprendre pour accéder à un autre niveau de compétence, les perceptions et les interprétations faites par les autres sont des sources d’information utiles. Nous ne pouvons pas nous voir de l’extérieur. Notre cerveau nous incite à percevoir nos comportements comme légitimes.

Accepter la confrontation est une façon d’ouvrir les sens à de nouvelles information. Désapprendre nécessite de négocier avec soi-même quant à l’intérêt de cette effort cognitif.

Dans les organisations, le regard extérieur est apporté par les consultants, les coachs, les auditeurs, les partenaires, les conférences, … qui sont différentes façons pour diversifier les perceptions sur la pertinence des pratiques en vigueur. A chaque fois que nous devons négocier un changement, nous avons une chance de découvrir quelque chose d’inconnu. Ce contact avec les perceptions d’autrui est par essence selon moi stimulant.

Le désapprentissage consiste à inhiber une stratégie cognitive qui a fait ses preuves dans un certain contexte et qui s’avère non efficiente dans un nouveau contexte.

Lors de l’acquisition d’une nouvelle stratégie cognitive, celle-ci entre en compétition avec les compétences existantes, créant ainsi des moments de confusion. Avec l’expérience et selon les situations, le Leader apprend à choisir la stratégie la plus pertinente. Pour cela, il faudra toutefois qu’elle soit capable d’inhiber d’autres stratégies, devenues routinières, acquises préalablement.

Celui qui aime à apprendre est bien près du savoir – Confucius

Le neuromanagement, grâce auquel j’ai pu moi-même développer mes compétences, nous apporte une preuve étonnante : ce processus d’inhibition se voit à l’imagerie médicale, le cerveau se réorganise. Ces expériences ont montré que lors de l’inhibition d’une routine cognitive et de son remplacement, par une nouvelle stratégie, il y avait une reconfiguration des circuits cérébraux.

Les nouveaux circuits impliquent le cortex préfrontal, alors qu’avant cette correction, c’était l’arrière du cerveau (partie reptilienne) qui était actif.

Pour progresser, notre cerveau a besoin de trois conditions:La motivation ; le droit à l’erreur et le temps.

Le processus d’apprentissage est simple : on apprend un «geste » (par exemple, comment célébrer un succès), apprécié le résultat obtenu et vécu l’émotion facilitant la mémorisation de l’approche que mes subordonnés ont été ravi.

Il est lié au processus d’essai-erreur répété dans le temps, avec une évaluation des causes de réussite et d’échec et la création de modèles cognitifs spécialisés. Oui ! Apprendre à valoriser son équipe est une expertise à acquérir.

Aujourd’hui ; dans certaines entreprises, les objectifs et les priorités business amènent à des automatismes attentionnels dont beaucoup de dirigeants ne mesurent pas la perversité. Être focalisé pendant de nombreuses années sur des indicateurs économiques fabrique des cultures d’entreprises déshumanisées. Les personnes plongées depuis longtemps dans le bain de la même culture finissent par ne plus savoir ce qu’elles ne voient pas. Elles ont choisi, à un moment donné, de se focaliser sur des priorités. Chemin faisant, elles finissent par ne plus se rendre compte que des automatismes sont nés et qu’elles y sont soumises.

Dans le contexte actuel, rester focalisé sur un élément clé ou une stratégie de son passé seraient suicidaires, entravant par la même occasion l’épanouissement des talents au sein d’une organisation.

Se saisir des challenges, persister face aux échecs, percevoir les efforts comme les chemins de la maîtrise, apprendre des critiques, tirer des leçons et inspirations de la réussite des autres, tout cela demande de savoir remettre en cause ses acquis.

L’aptitude d’un Leader à désapprendre/apprendre est au centre de son intelligence humaine. Cette personne confrontée à l’incertitude de l’environnement, à l’effort de l’innovation doit être capable de mettre en place un management du changement, mais en développant une intelligence de situation.Pendant la période de transition, le Leader est confronté à plus d’incertitudes, il perd en assurance, doit faire des efforts et prendre des initiatives. Ces comportements sont directement dépendants des profils des personnes.

Cet art de l’adaptation (ou du savoir rebondir) ne vaut que si le Leader tire les bénéfices de son expérience, s’il en capable de dégager des enseignements.

Toutefois, je conçois aussi que le système de l’organisation de l’entreprise est également concerné. La valeur donnée aux initiatives et les marges de manœuvre viennent la tête de l’organisation et de sa manière dont elle favorise les apprentissages/désapprentissages.

Ce processus s’épanouie davantage dans un environnement où l’élan collectif est en marche et quant les gains attendus ont du sens pour les acteurs de l’écosystème qui la tentent.

Mes conseils à tout Leader motivé par la perception de la nouveauté et du management bienveillant:

  • Oser prendre le risque de la découverte permet d’en faire !
  • Apprendre à donner de la valeur aux différences de perception est un premier pas pour entrer dans un processus d’ouverture à de nouvelles options.
  • Communiquer avec les autres, apprendre d’eux ne peut se faire que si on est ouvert à d’autres sensibilités.
  • La curiosité ouvre la porte au déplacement de l’attention répétitive offrant ainsi de nouvelles opportunités ;
  • Désapprendre pour apprendre exige de capter de nouvelles informations. Accepter de changer passe par une prise de conscience.
  • Apprendre à gérer la pression au risque d’inhiber le mouvement en marche.
  • Apprendre à déplacer son attention, mais aussi à se satisfaire d’un autre résultat : la vision du futur joue là tout son rôle.

 

Pour ce qui est de l’avenir, il ne s’agit pas de le prévoir mais de le rendre possible – Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

Il faut du temps, et le chemin est/sera jalonné d’échecs constatés, pour accompagner les autres dans leurs nouveaux apprentissages, mais à chaque fois, l’enthousiasme, la détermination, l’intelligence humaine, l’inventivité et la bienveillance de chacun constituent / constitueront une richesse pour la société de